Patrick Wendler

Partner

+49 (0)40 524 78 42-22

+49 (0)40 524 78 42-99

patrick.wendler@emlab.legal

LinkedIn

Patrick Wendler

Patrick studied law at the University of Cologne, the Fordham Law School in New York City and the Bucerius Law School in Hamburg. He completed his legal clerkship at the Hanseatic Higher Regional Court in Hamburg.

Patrick was admitted to the German Bar in 2014. From November 2014 to January 2021, he worked for Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer in the practice group Employment Pensions Benefits headed by Professor Dr. Klaus-Stefan Hohenstatt and Dr. Boris Dzida in the Hamburg office.

Patrick advises on all aspects of employment and labour law, in particular in connection with restructurings & reorganizations, mergers & acquisitions as well as compensation & incentive systems. Another focus of his practise is the support of companies and executives in complex separation scenarios. In addition, Patrick specializes in employment law issues in connection with start-ups, the digitalization of the workplace and (post-contractual) non-competition obligations.

In addition, Patrick has unique expertise in the field of employee participation on supervisory board level, including the specifics of the European Company (SE) and cross-border mergers. During his time at Freshfields, Patrick has advised numerous companies on their conversion to the legal form of an SE.

Patrick is the author of several publications, including the ZIP practice book “Gender and Women’s Quotas in the Private Sector” and the C.H. Beck practice guide “Labour Law in Times of Covid”.

Publications (excerpts)

Formal Requirements for Terminations in Times of Corona, in: Hohenstatt/Sittard (eds.), Labour Law in Times of Corona, 1st ed. 2020 and 2nd ed. 2021 (with Jonathan Monz).

Corporate Codetermination during the Covid-19 Crisis, in: Hohenstatt/Sittard (eds.), Labour Law in Times of Corona, 1st ed. 2020 and 2nd ed. 2021 (with Christopher Krois)

Employee co-determination in the supervisory body in the case of the formation of a Societas Europaea by way of a change of legal form, BB 2020, 1792 (with Dr. Neda von Rimon).

Ensuring the Functionality of Corporate Codetermination during the Covid 19 Pandemic, Der Betrieb 2020, 1009 – 1014 (with Christopher Krois).

The German Co-Determination Act is Compatible with Union Law, BB 2017, 1788 (with Jonathan Monz).

Memberships

Bucerius Alumni e.V.

Patrick Wendler

Patrick Wendler

Partner

+49 (0)40 524 78 42-22

+49 (0)40 524 78 42-99

patrick.wendler@emlab.legal

LinkedIn

Patrick Wendler

Patrick Wendler studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität zu Köln, der Fordham Law School in New York City sowie an der Bucerius Law School in Hamburg. Das Referendariat absolvierte er beim Hanseatischen Oberlandesgericht Hamburg.

Seit 2014 ist Patrick Wendler als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen. Von November 2014 bis Januar 2021 war er in der internationalen Sozietät Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer tätig. Hier arbeitete er in der Praxisgruppe Arbeitsrecht im Team von Professor Dr. Klaus-Stefan Hohenstatt und Dr. Boris Dzida im Hamburger Büro.

Patrick Wendler berät zu allen Fragen des individuellen und kollektiven Arbeitsrechts, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit Restrukturierungen & Reorganisationen, Fusionen & Übernahmen sowie bei der Ausgestaltung von Vergütungs- und Anreizsystemen. Weiterer Schwerpunkt seiner Beratungstätigkeit ist die Begleitung von Unternehmen und Führungskräften bei komplexen Trennungsprozessen. Außerdem ist Patrick Wendler spezialisiert auf arbeitsrechtliche Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Unternehmensgründungen, der Digitalisierung der Arbeitswelt sowie bei (nachvertraglichen) Wettbewerbsverboten.

Darüber hinaus verfügt Patrick Wendler über besondere Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Unternehmensmitbestimmung, einschließlich der Besonderheiten bei der Europäischen Aktiengesellschaft (SE) und bei grenzüberschreitenden Verschmelzungen. In seiner Zeit bei Freshfields hat Patrick Wendler zahlreiche Unternehmen bei der Umwandlung in die Rechtsform der SE begleitet.

Patrick Wendler ist Autor mehrerer Publikationen, u.a. im ZIP Praxisbuch „Geschlechter- und Frauenquoten in der Privatwirtschaft“ sowie im C.H. Beck Praxisleitfaden „Arbeitsrecht in Zeiten von Corona“.

Veröffentlichungen (auszugsweise)

Formerfordernisse für Kündigungen in Zeiten von Corona, in: Hohenstatt/Sittard (Hrsg.), Arbeitsrecht in Zeiten von Corona, 1. Aufl. 2020 und 2. Aufl. 2021 (mit Jonathan Monz)

Unternehmensmitbestimmung während der Covid-19-Krise, in: Hohenstatt/Sittard (Hrsg.), Arbeitsrecht in Zeiten von Corona, 1. Aufl. 2020 und 2. Aufl. 2021 (mit Christopher Krois)

Arbeitnehmermitbestimmung im Aufsichtsorgan bei Gründung einer Societas Europaea durch formwechselnde Umwandlung, BB 2020, 1792 (mit Dr. Neda von Rimon)

Sicherung der Funktionsfähigkeit der Unternehmensmitbestimmung während der Covid-19-Pandemie, Der Betrieb 2020, 1009 – 1014 (mit Christopher Krois)

Das Deutsche Mitbestimmungsgesetz ist mit Unionsrecht vereinbar, BB 2017, 1788 (mit Jonathan Monz)

Mitgliedschaften

Bucerius Alumni e.V.

Patrick Wendler